Gluten Free Vegan Cauliflower Wings With Vegan Ranch

 

img_1278img_1276img_1275img_1277

Hey everyone! The Super Bowl is this weekend and when I think Super Bowl I think of barbecue and my family is no exception! I know that vegan cauliflower wings have been around for a while but I never got around to making them or ever eating them because going out the wings were never gluten-free they always had wheat. So with that the only way  I knew i could have them was if I made them myself and THEY DID NOT DISAPPOINT! I had my whole family try out my recipe. I even brought them to my Grandma’s and Brother in Law ( check out my YouTube video to see reaction)  and it’s safe to say they all love them as much as  I do!

I made 2 variations of the recipe a Maple Garlic wing and a Barbecue one. With an amazing Vegan Ranch dipping sauce that’s to die for! You can’t even tell that this isn’t real chicken wings and to be honest I like the Cauliflower wings so much more.

Ingredients

  • Cauliflower

Gluten Free Dipping Batter

  • 3/4 cup Bob’s Mill One to One Gluten Free Baking Flour
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 water
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp black peppercorns
  • 1/4 sea salt

Breading

  • Gluten free bread crumbs

Vegan Ranch Dip

  • 1 cup Vegan Mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 2 tsp dill
  • 1/4 tsp black peppercorns
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

Maple Garlic Sauce

(Recommend to double this recipe)

  • 1 tbsp vegan butter
  • 1 tbsp tamari soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dried mustard powder

Barbecue Sauce

  • Barbecue Sauce
  • Water

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Wash your cauliflower and cut it into small bite size pieces. Set them on a baking sheet that is lined with wax paper. Set aside for later.img_1286
  2. Pre-heat your oven to 450 degrees.Time to make your batter, you are going to add 3/4 cups gluten-free baking flour, 1/2 cup of almond milk, 1/2 cup of water, 2 tsp garlic powder, 2 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp paprika, 1/4 black peppercorns & 1/4 tsp sea salt all into one large bowl. Mix until there’s no lumps.
  3. Time to bread them. Add your Gluten Free breadcrumbs into a big bowl.
  4. Take a piece of cauliflower, dip it into the gluten-free batter, then dip it into the breadcrumbs then set it back on to the baking sheet. You may need to add water to your batter if it’s too thick you want the batter to be able to drip off the cauliflower. Continue this process until all of your cauliflower is covered.img_1285
  5. Now that all of your covered cauliflower is on your baking sheet you will put it in the oven for 15 minutes.
  6. While your cauliflower is cooking now is the perfect time to make your vegan ranch dip. In a bowl you will add 1 cup vegan mayo, 2 tbsp almond milk, 1 tsp apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp parsley, 2 tsp dill ( less if you don’t like a strong dill taste) 1/4 tsp black peppercorns and 1/4 tsp sea salt. Mix well and put in the refrigerator to cool.
  7. Now make your Maple Garlic Sauce ( I recommend doubling this recipe for more sauce)in a large skillet on low heat add 1 tbsp vegan butter, 1 tbsp tamari soy sauce, 2 tbsp maple syrup, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp dried mustard powder. Let simmer then turn off.img_1284
  8. Your cauliflower should be done by now take it out of the oven let it sit for a minute or two. Pick up the cauliflower from the pan to make sur they aren’t stuck on the wax paper.
  9. Put half of the cauliflower into the skillet with the maple garlic sauce and mix around until all the wings are covered in sauce.
  10. Plate your wings and rinse off the pan. Now for the barbecue wings you can use any barbecue sauce for this I just used Rib & Rack the original flavor, and add that into the skillet with the rest of your wings, add a little water to thin the sauce for better coverage. img_1281
  11. Plate your wings, add your ranch dip and you are ALL DONE!
  12. ENJOY!

img_1283

I really enjoyed making this recipe, not to hard and now is going to be a party staple in my house! If you are more of a visual learning I also made a tutorial on YouTube making this be sure to check it out!

Let me know if you make this recipe comment down below or tag me in my social media I would love to see!

 

Leave a Reply

